The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
First Time for Everything

OK, had to share . . .

Was helping out a friend of mine who is an assignor in our area last night. He needed me to do 2 JH Girls games (7th A, 8th A). 7th A goes off without a hitch. 30 pt. blowout. 8th Grade game seems to be going OK. I am not particularly happy with my partner, but he is working hard and giving his best, so fine. Middle of 2nd quarter, Team A player catches a pass above her head and is holding it with both hands, still above her head. Team B player comes over and punches (closed fist) the ball out of her hands a split second after she catches it. TWEET. I blow my whistle. Violation . . . OOB to Team A. Never had this call before. VG coach who is there to watch the game asks me about the call, and I let him know violation. At half I look it up . . . Rule 9.4 (NFHS) . . . something like "cannot strike the ball with a closed fist."

Second one . . . I am L, partner is T. Team B player is going down sideline. Team a player runs in front of her. Team B player falls and loses ball OOB as a result of contact from Team A player. TWEET! I have a straight block, looking right through the play. Partner runs up, TWEET! OFFENSE . . . and signals the opposite direction. He NEVER even looks at me or acknowledges my whistle. Had he done so, I would have held my call to make sure we were on the same page. He never even turned around, and had his back to me the entire time. Yes . . . the dreaded BLARGE!!! CRAP! What now . . . so, I run over to him and ask what he has. He says offense. "Are you sure?!" I ask. "Yep!" OK. I report my foul, we call a double foul and go to point of interruption. Couldn't believe it. Leave up to a JH Girls game to get me into those situations . . . Oh, and team B won the 8th grade game too.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 02:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
Team B player falls and loses ball OOB as a result of contact from Team A player. TWEET! I have a straight block, looking right through the play. Partner runs up, TWEET! OFFENSE . . . and signals the opposite direction. He NEVER even looks at me or acknowledges my whistle.
My guess: Partner never even heard your whistle, so didn't realize at first what was going on. Then was working on "selling the call" and "acting confident" and just blew the teamwork thing.

Next guess: He'll learn.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 101
These double foul situations are nothing but the result of partners not communicating with each other. How a partner could not hear or see his partner is beyond me!!! Calling these type of fouls will sure erupt the place.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by rngrck
These double foul situations are nothing but the result of partners not communicating with each other. How a partner could not hear or see his partner is beyond me!!! Calling these type of fouls will sure erupt the place.
Actually, if both partners hit the whistle at the same time, for the same length of time, it's quite easy to not hear your partner's whistle. It's happened to me a few times.

And as for the place erupting...who cares?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 153
Well, I had a first yesterday, also.

I was working a G-JV game (as a favor to the assignor who needed an official for the game, and I was off). Team A (home team) begins the game with six players. They are terrible.

A1 fouls out early in the third quarter, and the rest of the 3Q goes without hitch. Team A has 5 players remaining, no problem. In addition, Team A is losing by 20 or so at this time.

I notice A2 go to the locker room between the third and fourth quarters. When Team A takes the court to begin the 4Q, they only have 4 players on the floor. I ask Coach A where the fifth the player is at. He replies, defensively, "She is playing varsity, she is done for this game." Fine, let's play.

With 3:50 left to play, A3 commits her fifth foul. As I am going to report the foul, I see Coach A walking to Coach B. As I report the foul, Coach A says the game is over, he "doesn't want to finish." Alright, fine with me. Game is over.
__________________
Call what you see; See what you call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 04:00pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgncjn
Well, I had a first yesterday, also.

I was working a G-JV game (as a favor to the assignor who needed an official for the game, and I was off). Team A (home team) begins the game with six players. They are terrible.

A1 fouls out early in the third quarter, and the rest of the 3Q goes without hitch. Team A has 5 players remaining, no problem. In addition, Team A is losing by 20 or so at this time.

I notice A2 go to the locker room between the third and fourth quarters. When Team A takes the court to begin the 4Q, they only have 4 players on the floor. I ask Coach A where the fifth the player is at. He replies, defensively, "She is playing varsity, she is done for this game." Fine, let's play.

With 3:50 left to play, A3 commits her fifth foul. As I am going to report the foul, I see Coach A walking to Coach B. As I report the foul, Coach A says the game is over, he "doesn't want to finish." Alright, fine with me. Game is over.

Not fine. I know the OhioHSAA quarter rule, BUT, too bad, she is an eligible player in the JV book. She has to play in 4th quarter of the JV game. Too bad about the VAR game. PM with the two teams involved. Inquiring minds want to know, . Your secret will be safe with me.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 10:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Sure, you got the call right..

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
OK, had to share . . .

Was helping out a friend of mine who is an assignor in our area last night. He needed me to do 2 JH Girls games (7th A, 8th A). 7th A goes off without a hitch. 30 pt. blowout. 8th Grade game seems to be going OK. I am not particularly happy with my partner, but he is working hard and giving his best, so fine. Middle of 2nd quarter, Team A player catches a pass above her head and is holding it with both hands, still above her head. Team B player comes over and punches (closed fist) the ball out of her hands a split second after she catches it. TWEET. I blow my whistle. Violation . . . OOB to Team A. Never had this call before. VG coach who is there to watch the game asks me about the call, and I let him know violation. At half I look it up . . . Rule 9.4 (NFHS) . . . something like "cannot strike the ball with a closed fist."
Ahh... but what signal did you break out on this one??
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2008, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 359
sorry for the delayed response . . . TWEET. Violation. Signal direction.

OK, ANOTHER vent. What I have never had happen before has now happenede TWICE in the past 2 weeks. To me in just emphasizes the MASSIVE importance of always having a good pre-game with your crew. Anyway . . .

Last night I show up at the game site. I walk in the locker room and meet my crew. One guy I called with last week. Enjoyed it very much. The girl I have never seen before. So . . . I introduce myself and we all exchange pleasantries. I indicate that she is the R for this game as that what is listed on our game assignments. I asked when she wants to begin our pregame. She gives me the look, and says "whenever, I really don't think it's that big a deal." "OK," I say, "well, can we do one for me, because it helps me get comfortable with my crew." She says, "we can talk later."

We come in at the start of the 4th quarter (the game before ours), and sit down to talk. She says THREE sentences [LITERALLY]. 1) "Make good calls." 2) "Get good position." 3) "Let's hustle." I have to DRAAAAAAAAAAG anything else out of her. After this joyous time, we head out on the court.

The game goes fairly well, but she informs us early on that she doesn't like 3-person mechanics and isn't very good at it. I see what she means about 15 seconds into the game . . . I am OK with that though, because we all have to work hard to get good at anything. I offer my assistance as best I can and she works hard and makes some great adjustments. Later in the game she is really moving well . . . and I told her as much.

We get down to about 3-4 minutes left in the game, and everything seems to be winding down in a 25 point blowout. Then it happens . . .

Team B has the ball. SHOT . . . attempt for a rebound and FOUL! TWEET! Double whistle between me and the lead (I am trail.). I look at her and say "33." She shakes her head yes. I turn, report the foul, and begin walking to the other end of the court. Everyone stops and looks around like "WHAT!?!?" I look at the lead, and she starts to walk toward me. I ask her again, "you had 33 with the push right?" She now says, "no, I had white 15." DOH!! I ask what she saw. She tells me she saw 15 white push 12 green. I let her know that 33 green pushed 15 white (from behind) into green 12. She is emphatic, that isn't what she saw. OK. Double Foul, POI. No possession as it was on the shot, so we go to APA. Team A coach is quite upset. (I can understand why, but explain what we had and what we were doing.) We move on.

56 seconds left in the game. Team B is coming up the floor. Pt. Guard is dribbling up the floor at a fast pace. She gets to mid-court line and passes off down the floor. In the process she completely obliterates a defender standing immediately in front of her. Hits the defender SQUARE in the middle of her chest with her shoulder. I am T, she is C. We have another double whistle. I look at her to see what she is going to call. She doesn't do anything. SO, I START to drop my hand and signal team-control foul. DOH!! She decides to signal BLOCK. "Luckily" I hadn't thrown my punch for the TC foul, BUT I had taken a step toward the Team A goal. Team A coach is ticked! Tells me I let her overrule me twice! Why would I do that? I tell coach, "Coach, we had the same call, and she had a much cleaner look at the play. It is her call." I ask my partner what she had after the game, and she says the girl "started" to fall back and that is ALWAYS a block! I shook my head, said OK, and got out of there.

I would very much like to hear some thoughts on this . . . thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2008, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
I asked when she wants to begin our pregame. She gives me the look, and says "whenever, I really don't think it's that big a deal." "OK," I say, "well, can we do one for me, because it helps me get comfortable with my crew." She says, "we can talk later."

We come in at the start of the 4th quarter (the game before ours), and sit down to talk. She says THREE sentences [LITERALLY]. 1) "Make good calls." 2) "Get good position." 3) "Let's hustle." I have to DRAAAAAAAAAAG anything else out of her. After this joyous time, we head out on the court.
At this point, you can do a little personal pre-game in your head: WARNING, TROUBLE AHEAD. Knowing she's the lackadaisical type, you have to be extra alert all the time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
The game goes fairly well, but she informs us early on that she doesn't like 3-person mechanics and isn't very good at it. I see what she means about 15 seconds into the game . . . I am OK with that though, because we all have to work hard to get good at anything. I offer my assistance as best I can and she works hard and makes some great adjustments. Later in the game she is really moving well . . . and I told her as much.
It's good that she was learning so quickly. But part of the pre-game for new 3-whistle people is to "just ref", and leave the mechanics in second place of focus. It's a lot easier to correct a few missed rotations than bail out of the kinds of jams you got into!

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
We get down to about 3-4 minutes left in the game, and everything seems to be winding down in a 25 point blowout. Then it happens . . .

Team B has the ball. SHOT . . . attempt for a rebound and FOUL! TWEET! Double whistle between me and the lead (I am trail.). I look at her and say "33." She shakes her head yes. I turn, report the foul, and begin walking to the other end of the court. Everyone stops and looks around like "WHAT!?!?" I look at the lead, and she starts to walk toward me. I ask her again, "you had 33 with the push right?" She now says, "no, I had white 15." DOH!!
She nodded to you that 33 was okay, but she didn't really know what you said. Knowing that you and she haven't gotten on the same page, next time, go clear to her and say the words, "push on 33?" But even then, since she gave the call up to you, you are the one who can change your call, and you shouldn't have, since you were sure you were right.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
56 seconds left in the game. Team B is coming up the floor. Pt. Guard is dribbling up the floor at a fast pace. She gets to mid-court line and passes off down the floor. In the process she completely obliterates a defender standing immediately in front of her. Hits the defender SQUARE in the middle of her chest with her shoulder. I am T, she is C. We have another double whistle. I look at her to see what she is going to call. She doesn't do anything. SO, I START to drop my hand and signal team-control foul. DOH!! She decides to signal BLOCK. "Luckily" I hadn't thrown my punch for the TC foul,
You might have had a better angle. Was one of you straightlined?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
I ask my partner what she had after the game, and she says the girl "started" to fall back and that is ALWAYS a block! I shook my head, said OK, and got out of there.
In simple kindness, you should have at least suggested she look up the rules that she kicked. What she does with that suggestion is then her problem
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2008, 05:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
She tells me she saw 15 white push 12 green. I let her know that 33 green pushed 15 white (from behind) into green 12. She is emphatic, that isn't what she saw. OK. Double Foul, POI.
That is a simultanious foul not a double foul.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2008, 05:24pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdogrunnin
She tells me she saw 15 white push 12 green. I let her know that 33 green pushed 15 white (from behind) into green 12. She is emphatic, that isn't what she saw. OK. Double Foul, POI.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LDUB
That is a simultanious foul not a double foul.
If 33 green pushed 15 white into 12 green, that is a foul on 33, nothing more.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 02, 2008, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,643
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref
If 33 green pushed 15 white into 12 green, that is a foul on 33, nothing more.
And the other official saw G33 push W15 at the same time that W15 pushed G12 which makes it s simultanious foul.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Long Time Lurker, First Time Poster SoInZebra Basketball 122 Mon Mar 26, 2007 04:10pm
the time displayed as post time is way off chuck chopper General / Off-Topic 2 Wed Mar 29, 2006 02:09pm
time expired/time outs cloverdale Basketball 14 Tue Feb 15, 2005 01:06am
Another long time listener, first time caller Fifth And Goal Basketball 11 Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:30am
When is it time to call Time / Dead ball? Deion Softball 1 Tue Jul 01, 2003 11:50am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1