![]() |
|
|||
B1 makes a steal and heads in the wrong direction and pulls up for a jumper. Coach yells at the player in mid-shot and the player throws up an airball and then goes and retrieves the ball. My partner called a traveling violation. Is this a traveling violation?
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
this is only a violation in the NBA. |
|
|||
Jurrasic,
I gotta disagree. Talking HS and NCAA, when a player shoots (what we deem a legitimate shot attempt) there is no player control. If he airballs a shot attempt (again this is at his own basket, not the opponent's) he can be the first to touch the ball and there is no double dribble or travel. |
|
|||
Quote:
Good catch, Smitty. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
No problem. I read your post twice trying to figure out what I was missing and then by the time I posted my response, Smitty had beaten me to the punch!
I was just so confused by your post because you are usually very accurate with your rules knowledge. I had to pause and question myself for a minute there ![]() |
|
|||
as long as he didn't touch the ball after he throw it off the opponent's backboard.
I thought it was an "airball"?
__________________
Dan Ivey Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA) Member since 1989 Richland, WA |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|