I just received a cell phone call about a play that just happened 5 minutes ago in a championship midget game asking if the officials made a proper ruling.
A's has a long run down to B's 2 yard line. A fumbles at the 2 and the ball rolls into B's end zone where B illegally kicks the ball over the endline.
Ruling: If foul declined, result of play would be a touchback since A provided the force. If the penalty is accepted it would NOT be a safety, but rather A's ball 1st and goal at the 1 yard line. I agreed with that because B fouled while A was still in team possession of the ball so enforce from the end of A's run.
I had to think about that for a minute as my initial thought was safety. Then I got to thinking if B had possessed the ball (and it became dead in the EZ) and fouled in the endzone then it would be a safety because it would be a foul behind the basic spot (the 20). But in this case B fouled while A had the ball during a running play. If team possession had changed I would rule safety.
I just want to double check on both situations for my own sanity.
|