The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
We recently discussed a play in which a runner deliberately passes another runner to ensure that the third out of an inning is not a force play.

Have we ever gone over deliberate interference?

Abel on 3B, Baker on 2B, Charles on 1B, 1 out. Daniels, a slow runner, hits a hard one-hopper to F6 and falls down as he is leaving the batter's box. F6 steps on 2B for the force out on Charles and, seeing that Daniels is far from 1B, decides to take his time for an easy throw to 1B for the double-play. Abel scores. Charles then catches the throw to 1B.

Do you go by the book and call Baker, the runner closest to home, out? If so, the run will score.

Or do you consider the DP complete at 1B so that the run is nullified?
__________________
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1