Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  BillyMac
					 
				 
				Did TSYouthSports mean an illegal dribble? 
 
 
 
I would love to see this interpretation, otherwise, how could an official judge the difference between the start of another  (illegal) dribble, and the start of a bounce pass? 
 
9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the 
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; (b) the opponent’s backboard; or (c) an 
official and catches the ball after each. RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard 
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. In (b) and 
(c), A1 has violated; throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official 
constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it 
strikes the official or the board. (4-4-5; 4-15-1, 2; Fundamental 19) 
			
		 | 
	
	
 There is another play where a player, after ending a dribble, throws the ball and it hits an official. Ruling is double dribble IF player first to touch it.  Your play above and this play do not look like dribbles.  Not a typical push down to the floor.  Looks like pass so they dont immediately say double dribble.  Only if player touches it first is it double.
In the palm/carry play it's double when player pushes it to the floor.  I reconcile these by saying if what the player does after ending his first dribble...looks like a dribble....then it is a dribble. Violation without touching again.  If what he does after he ends the dribble looks like something else then i will wait to see what happens.  If he's first to touch, violation. 
I will want to be sure that what the player is doing is dribbling again but if he pushes ball straight down or close to him with no one else around i will call that a dribble without him actually touching it again.