Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffM
SITUATION: A1 has control of the ball. B1 places hands on the ball and they begin to struggle to get the ball with neither player having an advantage. Coach A requests a timeout before the official calls a jump ball. Should the official grant the timeout of call a jump ball?
|
My rule of thumb is if their player has initial possession and the call a timeout within a fraction of a second of the opposing player also obtaining posession, I will le the coach burn a time out. It could potentially save some rough play. It has to be very clear that the first player had sole player control. Otherwise I let them continue until a held ball is warranted. Maybe others have a better discription, ruling or understanding of this rule.