View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 04, 2014, 06:48pm
bisonlj bisonlj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by WestCoaster View Post
Rule 10-4-7 clearly states that if you run the ball into the end zone, get fouled by B, then fumble in the end zone the basic spot is the goal line. This is exactly what happened in this play, is it not? I'm not questioning that this is a loose ball play! It is. But all the requirements of rule 10-4-7 have been met. The rule clearly states in THIS situation the basic spot for this foul is the goal line. What am I missing? What about rule 10-4-7 does not apply here? All conditions of this rule have been met. I'm clear on what is a loose ball play. This one example seems an exception to previous spot enforcement. Read the rule carefully and tell me how the play in this example is different.
A foul happens during a dead ball, a running play, or a loose ball play.

The key to understanding running play/loose ball play is there can only be one loose ball play during a down and it starts with the snap. There can be multiple running plays though. Once the QB fumbled, everthing from the snap to when the ball is recovered or becomes dead is a loose ball play. So this fumble happened during a loose ball play. The rule you are quoting doesn't apply.
Reply With Quote