Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Manny A
					 
				 
				F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner.  Read the definition of Play in the rule book.  It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner."  F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 That throw could be a documented play in their play book; or even an invented play on the spot. Who knows what evil lurks....