View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 08, 2013, 04:28pm
Texas Aggie Texas Aggie is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
I'm not sure where you guys are getting this stuff for NCAA rules. If you are correct about it, please provide rules references. Otherwise...

There is no defined "expanded" neutral zone for NCAA rules. On scrimmage kicks, the idea of an expanded neutral zone exists for the blocking of a kick by Team B -- if its done within 3 yards of the neutral zone, its considered to have been done in or behind the NZ. This is important because Team A can recover the kick that has not crossed the NZ and the ball continues in play. Other than this, touching by Team A of a kick beyond the NZ is a violation that, under most but not all circumstances, allows Team B to take the ball at the spot of the touching.

Touching by Team A behind the NZ means nothing. Its where the ball goes after that.

This is all in Rule 6-3.

Quote:
The expanded neutral zone is to allow mostly linemen to complete regular blocking actions and still be considered on or behind their line of scrimmage. This is important because if they are hit by a kicked ball or intentionally touch a thrown ball while not on or behind the line of scrimmage the ball becomes dead on the kicked ball and it is illegal touching potentially offensive pass interference/ and or Illegal man downfield on the pass play. Touching of a kicked ball in or behind the expanded neutral zone is ignored. If he had been another couple yards downfield in your example it would have been just like a kicking team player touching a punt 30 yds downfield it will be dead.
I don't think there is one statement in this paragraph that's actually correct. Just FYI: ANY intentional touching by an ineligible receiver of a forward pass, whether the touching occurs behind or beyond the NZ, is illegal, unless he's out of bounds.
Reply With Quote