Quote:
Originally Posted by Fed2You
In the OP, is the runner trying to get back to the bag because he didn't tag up, thus making it a force out?
Because on a play which requires the runner to be tagged, touching a runner with the glove and the ball in the other hand does not lead to an out. The ball must be in the glove if the glove is used to tag him.
From NFHS Rules By Topic (pg 85) "The tag must include the ball. If the ball isn't in the glove, the glove touching the runner has no effect."
|
This play (an appeal, not a force) does not require that the runner be tagged. The base can be tagged. When tagging a base the ball has to be held securely in the hand or glove and the base tagged with the body (includes gloves, shoes, hair, uniform, etc.)