Thread: FT violation?
View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2013, 04:23pm
VaTerp VaTerp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lotto View Post
That's interesting -- the NCAA case is completely different:

A.R. 206. A1, at the free-throw line to attempt a free throw, receives the ball from the official, who starts a silent count. While bouncing the ball, A1 strikes the ball on his/her knee or leg accidentally, and the ball rolls toward the basket between the free-throw lane lines.
RULING: The official shall sound the whistle at once, causing the ball to become dead. The official should caution the free-thrower, place the ball at the disposal of A1 and start a new silent count.
IMO this is a much more logical approach.

And I'm still not sure we had a violation in the OP. The ball rolled out to the T. So did it roll "forward" or "into the lane" per the case play? If the ball/shooter's foot never broke the plane or the ball is retrieved and shot released within 10 seconds then do we still have a violation?
Reply With Quote