View Single Post
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2012, 02:25pm
Raymond Raymond is offline
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeremy341a View Post
Shouldn't they also get it in the orginal example on the throw in even though Team B tipped it due to having team control on a throw in? Or does the tip end team control bc it ends the throw-in?
Dang, guess I typed all this for no reason:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
You would go to the AP arrow whenever there isn't team control or a try is missed.

The debate here is whether there is true TC on a throw-in or is a throw-in just a situation where a TC foul would be called but no other TC elements are applied.

What further complicates the matter is that a throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched (B1 tips throw-in) but we are told to call a TC foul up until someone secures player control.

The NFHS has made a mess of this rule. They should have just adopted the NCAA rule for Team Control and modified the 10-second, backcourt, 3-second rules to state PC must first be established.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote