View Single Post
  #62 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 25, 2012, 09:02am
DaveASA/FED DaveASA/FED is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 962
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
Just some little things, base on ASA 2 umps; but add NFHS & NCAA if you like.

A) agree or disagree
BU in B slot, pop up to SS pretty deep, this is a time to ignore inside/outside to avoid throwing lane

B) agree or disagree
Assuming PU is covering 3rd even if first play if from the outfield; it is still from the outfield if a relay by SS

C) R1 going home, R2 to 3rd, other runner(s):
How do you as BU judge whether PU is needed at home or should cover 3rd?
Please say if Q too cryptic/simplistic (politely of course).
A) there are some hits that, as the national staff describes them, are tweeners, it's inbetween the infield and the outfield. This is what this scenario sounds like to me so you read the play and react to it. Most likely as you are describing it (or as I am seeing it anyway) this play would be best to stay outside.

B) Agreed, you have to believe your partner will cover their responsibilities and you should cover yours. Now glancing to make sure never hurt but yes you should believe they are going to do their job.

C) By the book PU should be there unless there is a throw that takes them home. BU by the book covers a play on a lead runner at 3B if there is a throw that is returning from home, or cut off while on it's way to home and then thrown to 3B to make a play. In a follow up thread you asked to not worry about if there was a throw, well you can't disreguard this fact since it changes the coverage. Ex. If bases are loaded and there is a base hit to the outfield the PU should move into the holding zone and read the play being ready to move into position at 3B or home depending on what happens. IF there is going to be a play at the plate then PU needs to move toward the plate and take that play, any subsquent play on a throw being returned to 3B from the plate area will be the BU's call on R2. Now if R1 is going to score with no play the PU should stay in the holding zone and see the touch of home over their shoulder while preparing for a play at 3B on another lead runner. So the quick answer to your question is, if there is a play at the plate (which could just be a throw to the plate) on a lead runner, then as a BU you know you have to cover a return throw to 3B on another runner. If there isn't a play/throw toward home then by the book PU should have that play at 3B. Still always a good idea to look, could be possible PU got fooled and thought there was a play developing at plate and you may be in a better position to take the call but as always this is a deviation so COMMUNICATE and make sure it's clear you are taking that call at 3B.

Last edited by DaveASA/FED; Thu Oct 25, 2012 at 09:14am.
Reply With Quote