Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
The rule you quoted uses the word "play" but you say no play is required. Does Not Compute!
I would contend that once F4 booted the ball there is no longer a play being made. I'm not quite sure because I can't find a FED definition of "play" but in OBR it's a legitimate attempt to retire a runner which you can't do in this case without the ball.
|
OK. I agree about "force play," but if F4 is still close enough to the base to be contacted by the runner near the base, I'm ruling an FPSR violation. Again, the runner didn't know the play would end when he chose to slide illegally.
If he has moved away from the base and is chasing the ball, that would not be an FPSR violation.