Thread: Dead Ball
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2012, 09:02am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by easygoer View Post
Seems strange to award the batter first in this situation because the play was completed. I can see how it could go differently and I would want to argue that it is a dead ball.
No judgment is required on this one: once you rule runner interference, the ball is dead immediately. Nothing afterward ever happened on that play, no matter where the ball ended up.

If the runner did not interfere willfully and deliberately, then the batter is awarded 1B. You can't call him out, and you can't send him back to the plate: what else are you going to do with him?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote