Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrumpiresir
But the OP doesn't say this. So the ball is dead, the runner is out and the batter is awarded first base. The offensive coach was correct that the batter is not out.
|
The OP doesn't say either way. If we're charitable to the BU and assume he was right, he must have ruled that R1 willfully and deliberately contacted the ball in order to break up a DP.
I'd rather assume that the umpire was right than that the coach was. I don't think that's a 50-50 proposition.