Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
There's nothing magical about sliding and ending the slide. If he has both hands on it and the ball isn't rolling, then he is holding the ball.
In your OP, A1 had player control and team A had team control when A1 had the ball in the BC.
The ball gained FC status.
A2 bats the ball and it gains BC status.
If you deemed the bat a dribble, it's a BC violation.
If you judged the first touch was not a dribble (no player control), then it's a BC violation if A2 next touches the ball again.
|
BBR, Please see Camron's post, #38. It can't be a bcv when the ball hits the bc, from a bat, or a perceived "start of a dribble", because the bat occurs before the ball touches the backcourt, and a violation occurs for being the first to touch the ball,
after the ball gains backcourt status. IOW, the bat that causes the ball to touch the backcourt, is only that. It's the touch, when the ball bounces up, and again, touches the hand of the player, which occurs
after the ball gains backcourt status, that constitutes a bcv.