View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 21, 2011, 11:39pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
the interesting interp to this rule is...

If tipped by B1, who is in the frontcourt, then A1 in frontcourt and retreived by A1 who is in the backcourt, then a violation. The interp says that the throw in ended when touched legally inbounds by B. The exception to the rule ends when B touched the ball.

I will not say that I agree with interp but this is the interp...
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer View Post
2011-2012 NFHS Basketball Interpretations


SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt.

RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)
The above interpretation covers this. The only thing team control during a throw-in affects is fouls by the throw-in team. We handled every other the EXACT same way.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote