View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 04:06pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coach Bill View Post
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.
But they weren't met: the ball was not yet in player control in the frontcourt (9-9-1, 4-13-1). No violation.

The player throwing in the ball does not have player control in the frontcourt if he or she is out of bounds.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote