View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 05, 2011, 03:57pm
Coach Bill Coach Bill is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Been discussed ad nauseum.

A throwin from FC to BC is not a violation because the FC and BC are defined in bounds, not OOB.

The tip is not a violation because the committee told us they only intended to change whether free throws were shot. They added some other rule changes to attempt to say that, and came pretty close.
We had a varsity game the other day (NFHS rules). We got called for a backcourt violation because our throw-in went from the frontcourt endline, tipped one of our players in the frontcourt, where we retrieved it in the backcourt.

I was told by the ref essentially, that with the new team control rule on throw-ins, all the requirements for a backcourt violation were met.

I agreed with him, that the new rules as written, seem to say he is correct. But, can I tell him next time, that Snaqwells said the committee said they intended it to only apply to fouls? Will he believe me? Who is correct?
Reply With Quote