View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 02, 2011, 04:59pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Here's only one of several examples:

4.44.3 SITUATION C: A1 receives a pass and establishes the right foot as the
pivot. While faking a pass or try, A1 lifts the pivot foot and stands on the left foot
alone while undecided as to what to do. Has A1 traveled? RULING: No. Traveling
would occur only if A1 begins a dribble or returns the pivot foot to the floor. While
in this position A1 may pass, try for goal or call a time-out.

That being said, I still like using the terms "request" and "grant" in discussing timeout situations because it stresses that this is actually a two step process.

Billy:

I agree with you about "using the terms "request" and "grant" in discussing timeout situations because it stresses that this is actually a two step process." That said, it really burns my tuchus (by the way, it is 97F here in Toledo today, and boy am I glad that Mark, Jr., and I decided not to make ourselves available for either the ASA and USSSA girls' fastpitch softball tournaments in NW Ohio this weekend; the DeNucci Family has tickets for the MudHens game tomorrow night) when incorrect terminology is used in an official NFHS Ruling such as Casebook Play 4.44.3 SITUATION C.

Happy Fourth of July!!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote