View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 21, 2011, 01:56pm
PSUchem PSUchem is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by LIBlueASA View Post
(snip) In this third out situation, was I wrong? The BOO was brought up, but it was also stated that it didn't matter as there were already three outs.
Everyone is forgetting a very important detail. The groundout by the improper batter was the third out of the inning. In ASA, thou shalt not call a fourth out unless it is an appeal on a runner who has scored. Unlike NCAA, there is no stipulation for allowing an appeal on BOO as a fourth out. Without being able to appeal, B2's second at-bat must stand, and B3 will lead off next inning.

This is a major loophole in the ASA rules, and I have brought it to the attention of numerous "higher-ups," with no clear answer.

Situation #2: 2 outs, B6 is due up to bat. Instead, B9 comes to bat and grounds out. 3 outs. Without being able to appeal, B9's at-bat is legal. B1 leads off next inning. You have just effectively skipped the bottom of the order.

Last edited by PSUchem; Sat May 21, 2011 at 02:07pm.
Reply With Quote