View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 09:28pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by chseagle View Post

Also why didn't A1 just release the ball as soon as B1 grabbed it?

In this sitch, there are many what ifs or whys.
The rule is pretty simple. If A1 holds the ball on the inbound side of the plane, Team B is free to play the ball. That means he can knock it out of his hands/cause a held ball. If Team A doesn't want this to happen, they best stay on the out of bounds side of the plane. In this sitch, if A1 were to hold the ball on the inbounds side of the plane and just dropped it whenever B1 grabbed it, the ball would be in play. A1 just basically gave the ball to Team B

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bishopcolle View Post
I believe A1 causes the ball to be out of bounds, and therefore not a jump ball. 7-2-2. IMO.
How does a thrower cause the ball to be out of bounds whenever he is legally out of bounds and the throw-in hasn't ended? The correct call is a held ball.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote