View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 10, 2010, 03:57pm
bisonlj bisonlj is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by RadioBlue View Post
Hold on there. B is flagged for holding ... not A. A can decline the penalty and have 2nd & 5 from their 35 or they (obviously the choice here) can have it 1st & 10 from their 40. 10 yard penalty would be marked off from the previous spot and, by rule, this is a first down (10 yd. penalty on B on 1st & 10) by rule. (Not auto.)
Welpe was right. All fouls are enforced from the basic spot except foul by the offense behind the basic spot (all but one). This was a running play and the basic spot on a running play is the end of the related run. This foul is enforced from the A35 regardless of where the hold took place. 1st and 10 for A at the A45.
Reply With Quote