Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  RadioBlue
					 
				 
				Hold on there.  B is flagged for holding ... not A.  A can decline the penalty and have 2nd & 5 from their 35 or they (obviously the choice here) can have it 1st & 10 from their 40.  10 yard penalty would be marked off from the previous spot and, by rule, this is a first down (10 yd. penalty on B on 1st & 10) by rule.  (Not auto.) 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Welpe was right.  All fouls are enforced from the basic spot except foul by the offense behind the basic spot (all but one).  This was a running play and the basic spot on a running play is the end of the related run.  This foul is enforced from the A35 regardless of where the hold took place.  1st and 10 for A at the A45.