Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Scratch85
					 
				 
				I'll probably regret this but here goes.   
 
I am in complete agreement with everyone about the intent of 7-6-6 and how we should apply it.  But the way it is written is messing up my world. 
 
To answer the question: "Does it matter if A1 had not completed the throw-in?"   I didn't think so until they wrote 7-6-6.  Now if the throw-in has not ended, I can still correct the mistake.  
 
Here is the part I am going to regret.  Even though it is not a CE as defined in 2-10 it is an error that we are able to correct if it is done within the time frame stated in 7-6-6.  In the CE's there are situations where activity shall be cancelled and situations where activity shall not be nullified.  I understand this is not a CE and the CE rules will not apply but there is precedent for cancelling activity that occurs during a mistake that we are allowed, by rule, to correct.  Now that 7-6-6 is in the book, using specific language of when a throw-in ends, it has muddied the waters for me. 
 
What rules would we have applied to this situation before 7-6-6 was written?  Or is it just the lack of rules for this situation that would have rendered our ruling?  Prior to 7-6-6 what rule allowed us to stop play, ending the throw-in and award the ball to the correct team? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 You're right it is not a CE, so CE procedures would not apply.  Even so, I believe the only mention of ever cancelling activity would be the result of an unmerited FT, or a FT at the wrong basket.  For any other CE, all points scored, fouls, etc., woul still stand.
Since this isn't an unmerited FT specifically, or for that matter a CE in general, I don't know of any rule that would allow us to wipe off a foul after the fact.  Therefore, the throw-in would be the result of the penalty from the foul, and the previous throw-in is "gone", just like it would be if the proper team had been attempting it.