Quote:
	
	
		| 
					Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee  Rule 10-3-3 has an EXCEPTION that says that a player may grasp the basket to prevent injury. Does that mean that a team member will get a "T" if he grasps the basket in warmup to prevent injury? | 
	
 OK, I'll play.  I say that depends.  
Sitch 1:  A-1 is without the ball near the basket in pregame.  A-2 comes flying toward him.  While A-1 jumps, he graps the ring while A-2 sails beneath him.  Legal, as A-1 was avoiding injury.
Sitch 2:  A-1 goes up the pregame dunk.  As A-1 dunks, A-2 jumps to stop him.  A-1 slams the ball home, then graps the ring to avoid contact with A-2.  Technical foul for the pregame dunk.