View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 26, 2010, 09:18am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
A pitcher once removed from the game cannot be the DH. The DH cannot be added to the lineup in the 6th inning, but must be in the original lineup and bat for the pitcher's spot (6.10). So Team A is wrong about all that.

If the pitcher has just come up to bat and taken his place in the batter's box, it's an illegal substitution (3.06). Unless the league has a special rule permitting a forfeit (which I doubt), an illegal sub should be ejected. The proper batter would be whoever replaced the pitcher in the lineup.

If the pitcher has not yet taken his place in the batter's box, I would prevent the illegal substitution and get the proper sub up to the plate.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote