Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  dash_riprock
					 
				 
				I believe the rule says:  "If the batter is hit by his own batted ball when he is anywhere near the batter's box, it shall be ruled a foul ball, and the call shall be sold strongly." 
 
The "foot completely out of the box" stuff is a different rule.  It applies only at the moment the bat hits the ball. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 The new rule in the memo floating around says (added text in the rule is in blue):
6.05
(g) His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder. 
If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 6.03, and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;