Thread: Backcourt?
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 11, 2010, 10:15am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbking View Post
A1 is dribbling in backcourt, moves with his feet to the front court but the ball is being dribbled in backcourt. So far, so good, three points still apply. A1 now makes a one handed pass to team mate in back court. This is HTBT kind of moment.

Sit A: ( How it happened ) Ball is batted/passed off of dribble. Ball never comes to rest in players hand. I am C at the division line, 10' from play. Partner is trail across the court, 70' from play. Partner whistles BC violation. Game is post season HS, tight game, 4th qtr, team down has possession. IMHO, the bat was part of the dribble. Partner thought the bat was a pass, therefore not part of the dribble. What would you do?

Sit B: Ball comes to rest in players hand and then he passes to team mate who is in back court. I agree this is a BC violation. Any comments?

This situation led to a fairly long discussion in the locker room.
The "3 points" provision of the BC rule apply to the dribbler. So the only question here is: when did the dribble end?

Answer: 4-15-4.

If you rule that the dribble ended before the pass, BC violation because A1 is was in the FC. If not, then no violation because A1 was in the BC.

Sounds to me as if you got it right.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote