View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 08, 2010, 09:19am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
2001-2002 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION 12: Team A has used all allotted time-outs. The scorer notifies the referee, who properly advises the Team A coach at the beginning of Team A’s last called time-out. During play later in the game, A4 attempts to call time-out when he/she is being pressured by B2 and 83. U2 ignores the request by A4. RULING: U2 should honor the request of A4, even when this would be a time-out in excess of the number allotted. Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players in avoiding rules violations. (2-7-6; 5-12-2)
The only thing I would amend if I were editing this ruling would be to insert the words "or coaches" in the last sentence: "Game officials do not have discretionary authority to assist players or coaches in avoiding rules violations."
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote