Thread: Pass to self
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 29, 2009, 11:03am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back In The Saddle View Post
Bob,

Can you point me to this case? I'm having trouble locating it. In NCAA it's AR 88, but I'd like to locate it in the NFHS book too.
4.44.3 SITUATION D: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)


For years, this was called an illegal dribble. Then, it was called traveling. Now, it's just illegal.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote