View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 11, 2009, 07:56am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Nah, I prefer to consult the Past Interps Archive!

2001-2002 NFHS Basketball Interpretations

SITUATION 11: Each team and the official scorer have been notified that Team A has called a 30-second timeout. Team A decides to sit down on its bench. RULING: Incorrect procedure. The official should first inform the coach that his/her team is to remain standing during a 30-second timeout. If the coach refuses to adhere to the officials’ request, an unsporting technical shall be assessed. (5-12-5)


There's a general strategy here: although the rules lack a penalty specifically for a given behavior, there is a penalty for failing to follow an official's instructions. Remind them of what they're supposed to do, and then penalize accordingly if the behavior doesn't change.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote