Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SergioJ
Just a thought. The OP called for ball hit in the infield. My situation/mechanic question is: In a 3-Umpire system, ball hit to the outfield. BU goes out (per mechanics). Ball hits the ground PRIOR to going into fielder's glove. Does the BU give a SAFE signal (implying no catch), or does he/she just stand there? If he/she does give a NO CATCH signal, then why is this different than the OP? Again, just asking to see if I have been using the wrong mechanic (wouldn't be a first).
Serg
|
I don't believe there has been any disagreement offering a safe sign for a trapped/near trapped ball in either the IF or OF.
|
O Irish, I think Serg hamered it right on the nail!
If,
and in 3-umpire system (or less) I rather do not [different discussion], a BU goes out for the outfield to call the (nearly) trapped hitted ball he CAN/MUST use the safe signal. In the infield, however, I prefer "the fair hitted ball"-signal for a just uncaught ball.