Thread: Kick play
View Single Post
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 26, 2009, 01:44pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike L View Post
But if K accepts the penalty, the first touch goes away per your own rule cite.
I don't think that's correct. Here's the relevant sentence:
"The right of R to take the ball at spot of first
touching by K is canceled if R touches the kick and thereafter during the down
commits a foul or if the penalty is accepted for any foul committed during the down."
What exactly is canceled: the right of R to the ball, or the right of R to take the ball at the spot of first touching? I would argue that it's the latter: a PSK penalty will be marched off from the spot of first touching, and R keeps the ball.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote