View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 08, 2009, 03:21pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives View Post
The whole issue onthe SB side is whether it's a force out which would cancel the run, or bascally a time play which would allow the run.

In OBR it doesn't matter because:

7.08 Any runner is out when—
(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance.


In NCAA it doesn't matter because:

SECTION 2. The ball becomes dead and base runners return when:
e. A fair-hit ball touches a runner in fair territory before touching an
infielder or an umpire and before passing all infielders, other than the
pitcher. Runner(s) advance if forced


In FED the dead ball table says runners return unless forced but I can't find it in the rules proper.
I agree that OBR clearly states R3 returns on this play. Are you sure that NCAA returns runners to the TOP base and not the TOI base?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote