Thread: Abandonment???
View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 29, 2009, 12:07pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Originally Posted by UmpTTS43 View Post
A runner not "immediately" returning to 1st after attaining 1st is an appealable play (7.10c). If the BR is obviously heading toward his dugout, I will recognize the tag and bang him out.
What tag? An out for abandonment does not require a tag. In the OP, if F3 tags the runner, he's not far enough away to have abandoned. If that tips him off to return to 1B, we play on.

A runner is "immediately" returning to 1B if he's not going somewhere else. No WAY I'd call a runner out for removing protective gear while off the base. That's a ticket back to the small diamond.
Reply With Quote