View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 03, 2009, 10:09am
ILMalti ILMalti is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Okay, let's try this again.

Anytime the defense touches the ball held by an airborne shooter who does not release before landing, you have to make a judgment. "Did the defender's touch prevent the release." Sometimes that judgment is easier than others. In the case of the OP, it seems to have been a pretty easy judgment in favor of a travel call.
but this is my "mental block", and I have simplified the thought process

1) player in air with ball, any rule broken : NO
2) Is player passing, trying holding : OP ays none
3) defense comes from behind
4) Any illegal contact : NO
5) Defense touches ball
6) Held ball rule applies : NO
7) offense goes to floor with held ball
8) Rule 4.44 applies; travel whistle

so no judgment in my mind.
Reply With Quote