Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Plus and minus.
The official was 100% correct that a technical foul could be charged following the final horn for poor behavior. However, if one is going to go that route and rely upon the rules for justification, then one had darn well better conduct the entire procedure strictly by the book. That means that he screwed up by permitting the 2nd FT to be administered. Had the coach argued about that, he would have been correct. Now what does one do? -- T the coach again when he is right and the official has absolutely no rules support for what he just did?
Good call, poor execution.
|
Yes, T him again even if the coach is right. I've been T'ed for arguing with officials who did things with no rules support. Just to mention a couple I've been T'ed for arguing:
1. Ref calls the ball out of bounds when it hits the side of backboard.
2. Ref calls the ball out of bounds when it hits the top (not the support).
3. Ref gives the ball underneath when intentional foul called at half-court.
4. Ref gives the ball at half court when intentional foul called underneath basket (more common). They administer as if it was a T.
5. Ref says team control foul (no free throws) on a push on a rebound. He insists team maintains team control while shot is in air.
Also - in our game I thought the refs did a fantastic job. They knew the rules and had the other coach baffled because of a couple situations:
1. Called over-and-back when we tipped a pass, but his team touched it last in the front court and then touched it first in the back court. Coach is arguing "they tipped it!", but the ref got it right. Coaches rarely know this rule.
2. Called over-and-back on a sideline inbounds pass where the kid landed on one foot in the front court and then his second foot came down in the back court. He didn't catch it in the air and land in the backcourt.
The other coach thought he was getting screwed but didn't earn his T until after the game. I thought he deserved one during the game. I've been given T's for less, but that's OK. It was a well-officiated game and we still lost!