View Single Post
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 22, 2009, 03:21pm
CecilOne CecilOne is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by strike4 View Post
Same play except line drive to F6. PU ruled a catch. R1 returns to 1B as F6 throws to F3 who touches the base for double play. BU rules safe at 1B. OC appeals the catch by F6. PU asked BU for help. BU advises that F6 trapped the ball.

How would you handle this?
Looks like an umpire jeopardy ruling, but the offense and defense were both "jeopardized" by the out call, so you have to use the god rule. Can we judge that R1 would not have reached 2nd if the PU ruled no catch in the first place?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote