View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 07:15am
rwest rwest is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
I disagree

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Hi Wade,

I understand KR's argument. I'm just pointing out that there is the possibility of a loophole in that a BR gets an awarded base which should/would force other runners to advance [without liability].

I think the other 2 associations mentioned {NCAA and NFHS} have a better take on this situation than ASA. That said, however, if I encounter the situation while wearing my ASA cap, I will invoke the KR logic.

Ted
I think ASA has it correct. What hasn't been clearly stated, IMHO, thus far is that R1 is allowed to advance without liability to be put out, but it is not R1 that is being put out. It is R2. And R2 is protected only to third base. So when she overran third she was in jeopardy. ASA's rule is very clear to me. No run shall score if a live ball tag play occurs before the runner crossing home. The FED has it wrong in my opinion. How can a run score when they didn't touch home before the third out of the inning? I know in FED they can because they said so, but I believe ASA's logic on this is more sound. But I will call it the way the governing rules for the game I'm officiating require me to.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote