View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 05:03pm
BillyMac BillyMac is offline
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Keep away from fire or flames.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoopsAnnouncer View Post
Player A1 sprinted to the lane, hit a leaner, and then was called for a charge. I initially thought they were waving off the basket. It turns out they gave him the basket and the foul, Team B's ball. What is the exact rule here? I couldn't find it anywhere in the rule book .
Quote:
Originally Posted by LSams View Post
In NCAA, if the ball is released on the shot, prior to the contact, the ball is not dead. Therefore if the ball goes in, the basket counts, player control foul on the shooter, ball goes the other way. This is different than the high school rule, where the ball is dead immediately on the player control foul.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
I believe NCAAM has a different rule, from NFHS, for this: count the bucket if a PC foul occurs after the try is released.
Quote:
Originally Posted by canuckrefguy View Post
Unless I'm mistaken, in NCAA mens rules, the foul is not a PC foul, as there is no PC after the ball is released for a shot. Therefore, the foul is a pushing foul. If the foul had been the team's 7th of the half, the guy that got crashed would be awarded the 1-and-1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPNY25 View Post
NCAA Men, player control ends upon the release of the shot. Thus the foul is a pushing foul, and the basket counts. Team B will shoot if this is the 7th foul as player control has ended. As has already been stated, this rule is different than NFHS. In high school, player control does not end immediately upon the release of the ball on the shot.
Who is old enough, I mean, who is experienced enough (how's that, better?) to remember when the NFHS had the same rule as the NCAA? The best part of this call was that if the offended team was in the bonus, then both coaches got a little something out of the call. One team got a field goal, and the other team got a one and one free throw attempt. Neither coach got too excited. With the NFHS rule today, one coach is going to be very displeased, his player picks up a personal foul, and the basket doesn't count. If the call was close, you always know that you're going to get an earful.

HoopsAnnouncer: Thanks for coming here to find out the correct answer. Please encourage your colleagues, especially those on television, to come here for help, when they need it, which is almost all the time.

Oh, I almost forgot. Welcome to the jungle, I mean, to the Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote