
Thu Jan 22, 2009, 05:12pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by stosh
On the same subject, A1 dribbling the ball in FC has the ball slapped away by B1 and the ball goes into BC. When does the 10 second count start? We've had some discussion on this and I say that it starts as soon as the ball hits in the BC.
|
From the 08-09 NFHS Interpretations:
SITUATION 8: A1 is dribbling in his/her frontcourt when B1 deflects the ball into A's backcourt. The ball is bouncing toward the end line in A's backcourt while A1 and B1 give chase. B1 and A1 each contact the ball, but neither gains control. Finally, after numerous attempts by each player, A1 gains possession deep in A's backcourt. When does the 10-second count begin anew for Team A? RULING: The count starts as soon as the ball goes into the backcourt since team control has not ended. (4-12-3; 9-8)
|