View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 15, 2009, 11:03am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by JS 20 View Post
I think I kicked this one.

A1 in the BC passes to A2 at the division line. A2 fumbles several times and finally secures control with his feet entirely in the front court. He's picks the ball up off the floor. Ball was entirely in the BC when he picked it up. He doesn't move the ball over the line and passes to A1 still in the BC. I let it go since the ball didn't cross the division line. Pretty sure I kicked it b/c the ball would have had front court status in this case since he wasn't dribbling. Thoughts?
When held by a player, the ball derives its location from that of the player. The ball does not have its status according to its location in space ("over" the BC or "past" the division line) nor according to where it last touched the floor. See rule 4-4, ball location.

As Juggling said, if A2 is in the FC and secures the ball, then the ball now has FC status. When A2 passes it to A1 in the BC, that's a violation.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote