View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 03, 2009, 10:49am
icallfouls icallfouls is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The play was perfectly legal. The coach was wrong. Big surprise.

A player may bounce the ball OOB prior to making the throw-in pass. What's the difference between purposely bouncing it and dropping it to the floor accidentally? In this case nothing.

9.2.2 SITUATION D: A1 dribbles the ball on floor on the out-of-bounds area before making a throw-in. RULING: Legal, a player may bounce the ball on the out-of-bounds area prior to making a throw-in.
Extra bit of info.
Can a player bounce pass to another player OOB after a made basket?

This is one that we batted around here for a few days, the answer was surprizing.

NO. The pass must be a direct pass to the teammate also OOB, not a bounce pass. This is from the NFHS, and our State R.I.

However, a player dribbling OOB is not a violation.

In case you all wanted to know.
Reply With Quote