View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 02, 2009, 12:02pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
To start, this is a question on the 2009 ASA test. There is a lot to be desired in the wording as many parameters which could affect the final ruling are not given. For example, in ASA an "overthrow" is a ball which leaves playable territory,
Not true. I've seen that term used both ways... and only until recently if they mean that the ball went into DBT, they'll tell you. "Overthrown" now implies the ball stays in playable territory.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
...but we are not told where the runner was when the throw was released. Nor does it state whether the runner was on 2B before or after an umpire may have made an award.
This is irrelevant - not part of the play, nor is the info needed to complete the exercise.

I agree with you, Mike. There is not enough information given to know what to do after the written play is completed. But as you know, ASA doesn't care about the rest of the story when these questions are written. They want you to take it "literal and linear."

I took the OP at a literal and lineal face value. "R1 returns to 1B" tells me that R1 indeed touched 1B, so there would not be an appeal of leaving early. "The ball is overthrown" tells me that the ball went past 1B while R1 was on 1B (or after R1 retouched 1B). I didn't assume that "overthrown" meant "out of play" or "into DBT" ... the scenario didn't really discuss where to award bases, so that part really doesn't matter. Besides, if the ball went into DBT, why would R1 be allowed to 'advance to 2B'?

The intent, then, is to enforce 8.3.A on appeal.

JMHO.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote