Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
...
BTW your 'lift the pivot foot and then start a dribble' situation does fall within the purview of "while holding the ball" and thus the guiding principle for traveling. The player lifted his pivot while holding the ball and certainly released the ball to begin a dribble while holding it. The violation takes place at that time. The official simply has to wait to confirm that the action of the player was indeed a dribble and not a pass.
|
It doesn't become a dribble until the player resecures the ball. It doesn't become a violation until that point.
If a player lifts his/her pivot and stands there for 5 seconds then dribbles you can't say the violation occurred 5 seconds ago when the pivot was lifted. It became a violation when he/she dribbled.
If a player tosses the ball in the air, runs, then catches it then they never relinquished player control; and they lifted and reset their pivot foot, so it's a travel to me. That's the spirit of the rule, at least IMO.