View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 02, 2008, 08:23am
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Illini_Ref
If the runner from second advances to third does he stay at third? The rule (NF) states that runners return on interference by the batter and a play at a base other than home. By rule then, the runner stays unless I deem a DP could have been made. Correct???
Not correct. In general, we do not allow runners to advance because of interference. Send R2 back. See 2.00 INTERFERENCE (FED 7-3-5 Pen).

The rule might seem to allow this only because it's making room for an exception. With less than two outs and R3 stealing, we do NOT send R3 back, we call him out. So the rule cannot say "all runners return."
__________________
Cheers,
mb

Last edited by mbyron; Sat Aug 02, 2008 at 08:28am.
Reply With Quote