View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 05, 2007, 06:29pm
socalreff socalreff is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
It sounds like the official either saw the play differently or got a couple of rules confused.

The ball merely striking the basket (defined as the ring, its braces and flange, and the net per 1-10-1) on a throw-in pass is not a violation. The front and side edges of the backboard, plus the basket are all inbounds. So the ball hitting any of these would not cause it to be out-of-bounds.

However, the officials may have felt that the thrower caused the ball to enter and pass through the basket from below. That is a violation per 9-4.

Or the officials may have confused the rules which prohibit a throw-in pass from entering the basket directly or lodging between the ring and backboard or coming to rest on the flange with the ball merely striking the basket on a throw-in.

If the play happened exactly as you described, then it was legal and no whistle should have been blown.
Or the official simply does not know the rules, as is the case with plenty of rec ball officials. Generally they make up their own when they "think" something is amiss.
__________________
"Never mistake activity for achievement."
Reply With Quote