Quote:
Originally posted by All_Heart
Quote:
Originally posted by socalreff
A player may not be the last to have control inbounds, leave the court, re-establish inbounds status and be the 1st to touch the ball. You stated that the player dribbled b4 going out--hence, he had control. If he just bats the ball in and goes out, he can be the 1st to touch.
|
Sorry socalreff but you are wrong. Control has nothing to do with it. Although your last sentence says that he can be the 1st to touch, I'm assuming that it was a typo.
Sit.
A1 grabs the ball while falling out of bounds. Both of his feet are planted to the floor while he throws the ball to the floor inbounds. He then falls out of bounds. A1 then reestablishes himself back in bounds and picks up the ball. A1 has legally started a dribble and ended the dribble.
|
I don't have the book handy, but I am absolutely certain of this rule, having looked it up after it happened to me in a game. It's in the case book. If the player was the last to touch before going out and the 1st to touch upon re-entering, it is completely legal if he never had control. However if he had control before going out, he cannot be the last and 1st to touch. That is what Burr was signalling.